A Raspberry Cleo

I’m pretty sure that everybody in the sewing world is making a Tilly and the Buttons Cleo right now! 


So I thought I’d have a go too! 

I used this gorgeous cotton elastine cord in a lush rasberry pink. It’s the kind of fabric that looks even better after washing and plumps right up. 


I’ve loved this cord from day one of opening the shop and we have it in navy, red and brown too. It’s available in the crafty online shop at http://www.Craftysewandso.com. I made a lovely Grainline Moss skirt in the navy a couple of years ago which is an absolute staple in my wardrobe. I really must make another one in a different colour.

I also matched the perfect colour from our Metler threads range. I’ve become more fussy with my threads recently after failing miserably several times with cheap thread and a twin needle then finding the immediate satisfaction of a first time win using the higher quality thread.

There’s a fair bit of topstitching on the style so this makes matching the colour even more important. I would say if you can’t get an exact colour match go for a shade darker for this make. 

I tried out the triple stitch on my machine which creates a thicker  looking topstitch effect without having to buy a separate thread


 I lengthened the stitch to 3.5 and I’m pretty happy with the look of this.

Make was pretty straightforward following Tilly’s brilliantly concise instructions. Having read a few previous pattern reviews of the style I took advice and stay stitched the curved edges before making up the dress. 

And here’s the finished result. 

It was nice quick make and I’m glad that I got on the bandwagon and had a go but I don’t think the style really suits me. I don’t think shape of the skirt and the roomy waist really flatter my pearshaped figure. 

Having said this I do want to go ahead and make some tweaks to the pattern and remake the style. I plan to take in the waist and little and flare out the skirt slightly to create a more a line shape. I think I’ll have a go at making this up in some of the stretch denim we have in store and go to town on the contrast topstitching and hardware including proper dungaree buckles. I think one single pocket at the bust will also be more flattering on me. 

In the meantime I’m making another Cleo in bright pink cord for my friend emily’s birthday present- I gave her a choice of styles including the Grainline Moss skirt and the Tilly and the Buttons Arielle skirt and she went for the Cleo pinny dress. At least I’ve had a trial run! 

The above 3 photos are courtesy of The New Craft House, Tilly and the Buttons and Grainline Studio

Happy sewing! 

Sarah x

One thought on “A Raspberry Cleo

Leave a Reply

