My First “Big” Quilt- Finished!

So a few months back after making a few smaller quilted projects including a sampler quilt sample for our 6 week quilting course, I decided to make my first “Big” quilt. Read about how I started out with this project in my previous blog post here.

At that point I’d pieced all my blocks and was ready to join them with sashing. I opted for wide 3.5 inch sashing to break up the bold blocks. After constructing the quilt top I used spray adhesive to create a “quilt sandwich” with batting and the backing.

After that I had a good think about how I wanted to quilt my quilt. There are So. Many. Options!

Quilting is a really creative art! I researched freehand quilting and other quilting designs and decided that as this was my first big quilt I’d go for simple in the ditch diamond quilting and foot-spaced stitching on the sashing.

I decide after this to go a bit mad and test out some of the embroidery stitches on our workshop machines along the outside border of the quilt. Some I like, some I’m not so keen on. But it does make it really unique!


  

I finished the quilt with straight cut binding which I hand sewed on whilst watching the Great British Sewing Bee.

 Have you been watching? Who’s your favourite to win? My money’s on Charlotte. I love her style and she’s a great quilter too!

I’ll be working on a few smaller quilting projects for now but I am keen to make another big quilt again soon.

img_7032-0

 

Leave a Reply

