April makes round up and my me made May pledge

I though I hadn’t made that much this month till I looked at my photos! Here’s my makes from April…

A cotton kimono using a Clothkits pattern.I added red fringe trim for an exotic finish- I’m still deciding whether to add some to the hem too.

A selection of fabric headbands- I’ll blog a tutorial in a few weeks for these. I made 2 for me and 1 each for Bekki and Freya, my Crafty Sew&So comrades!

Bekki

 

A Mabel by Collete skirt – can’t wait for this to finish it’s turn in our shop window so I can wear it! it’s made using our stretch denim which is more of a knot construction than woven. I want to make a pair of jeggings from this.

A self drafted long sleeve version of my basic tee pattern- this is so comfy in acrylic jersey-this was great for a couple of weeks ago- bit warm for now as it’s 23 degrees c today!

A shirred sun dress- this is actually a sample for our class and I’ve made it a bit short so will either gift this to Freya or shorten it to a knee length for me- I just can’t do midi length even if it is fashionable! It’s made in viscose which I’m very glad I pre-washed as it shrunk about 10%.

My fave make of the month is this Mortmain by  Gather patterns. I swapped out the facings in favour of finishing the neckline and armholes with bias binding- on a closer fitting dress i find this gives a neater finish. I had to make a few changes to the fit at the waist but I love the finished result. The box pleats really bounce nicely in this fabric- as soon as I saw this I knew it had to be a pleated something! now I’m wondering how it would look as a Mabel pencil skirt…

photo

Here it is in action at Cank Street cocktail bar out with the girls
mortmain in action

A super snugly Silly and the Buttons Coco jumper- this time with a cowl neck and a bit shorter as I only had 1 metre of fabric. I got the fabric, which is a cotton-poly mix brushed-back sweat, way back in September when Freya and I visited  Guthrie and Ghani in Birmingham, then lost it for a while! It’s so soft and warm with a pretty blue on white mini leaf print.

I made this pussy bow blouse from the free pattern in this months Love Sewing magazine. It’s too big really and the fit is not good- the shoulders are too wide and the sleeve head sits too far down the arm- on a tailored top like this it should be more set in and sit on the shoulder neatly. The bow is too short and too wide and the darts start too low in the side seam. I might re-set the sleeves and alter the neck tie… or I might write this one off and try the Sew Over It pussy bow blouse instead.

Now the sun has come out and I’m feeling the need to make some very quick summer wardrobe updates! I’m doing me may may for the first time this year and my pledge is to wear one item of handmade clothing or accessories every day through May and a full handmade outfit once a week. I’m posting my pics on Instagram and you can follow my #MMM16 here

Leave a Reply

