I might be just about getting there…

It’s Tuesday night and I’m feeling all-right! I might have actually struck a good balance between work and play over the past week…or it might be something to do with me sorta- kinda having had 3 days “off” in a row. This week as well as my usual Monday and Tuesday away from the shop, I had a bit of down-time enjoying a peaceful day bimbling around in Leicester. Helen, one of our lovely tutors came in to teach a lampshades workshop and then Roman blinds in the afternoon so I was free to spend a relaxed day out with Matt. We started with brunch at St.Martins, a delicious squash and coconut curry for me, burger and chips for Matt!  Then made our way to the New Walk Gallery to see the Open 27 exhibition. I’m always astounded at the talent that breeds in our small city- Leicester is a humble place in terms of creativity with commerce and consumerism usually finding a much louder voice so I always look forward this annual exhibition which shows it off.

In fact always enjoy a trip to the New Walk Gallery at any time. Last time we went there was an exhibition on the Gujarat region of India which was enlightening. This visit there was also an open day for the Rajcot Twinning association. Intrigued, me and Matt made our way through the back corridors of the museum to a meeting room where we were welcomed by the secretary and encouraged to try some Indian dancing.As well as this they were making paper flowers and there were Colouring activities and henna mehndi demos. It was an unexpected treat! The only thing that really frustrates me about Leicester’s approach to creative culture is that it can be a but all behind closed doors. Maybe I’m just looking in the wrong places but I always seem to hear about things after they have happened- there seems to be a bit of a communication barrier when it come to letting the people of Leicester know about all the exciting creative things happening in their city. I’d love to know how other cities do it. I always seem to be hearing about something cool happening in London, Birmingham or Manchester.

So that was Sunday.

I told myself I had to spend Monday sewing- which of course didn’t work! After a ‘quick check’ of the emails, I spent most of the morning re-doing the parties page on our website. We had had 3 enquiries about kids and adults parties so I figured this was the kick up the bum I needed to finally update the pages, a task I’d unsurprisingly put off for some time!

So I am starting to realise something about myself! I do not do plans on my day off! If I plan a project- even if it is something I want to do- or worse, need to do- I will not get it done! at least not until I have done several other things first. So I just went with that yesterday and today. I just did waht i felt like doing, around a few pre-planned events like going to the doctors. I updated the workshops for May,I went to the doctors and bought some fruit, I paid in a cheque, I overlocked the raw edges of some PJ bottoms, I started a cross stitch project I bought 3 months ago, I made a poster for our sewing cinema event, I cut and sewed a bit more of the Mortmain dress I’ve been working on, I painted the walls but not the ceiling in our bathroom, I went for a pint with Matt.

I did a lot of things! A little bit of a lot of things withour too much of an agenda. And that’s what I learnt works for me. Horray!

Leave a Reply

