The sun is out- YEY! Now I can see all the dust- BOO!

Now anyone who knows me well will know that dusting and cleaning rank pretty low on my list of fun things to do. But we are currently having our bathroom re-done and with this prospect of a new shiny bathroom (or I should say shower room as we have gone bath-less) and the immense sheet of dust this has left on every surface in the house… it is time to clean!

Don’t worry I’m not going to blog about the dirty details of the deep clean, no one wants to read my top-tips for de-gunging a plughole! But I will let you in on my progress with the most important room in the house… my craft room!

This is the sorry state it was in last Monday morning!

I started working on re-organising my craft room a few months back and some progress has been made. I’ve installed hooks in the wall mounted cuby unit to create easy access to my sewing essentials.

IMG_5603

I’ve made a sewing themed fabric covered pin board for essential info and inspiration and I made another one for downstairs too- mainly for wedding invites!

IMG_5646IMG_5610

And I’ve created a box for stuff which doesn’t belong in the room and needs to be moved to a different room…

IMG_5573

So the big changes made yesterday and last Monday were getting rid of the dust film and generally sorting my fabrics, patterns and trims into boxes, then redistributing the stuff from the ‘should be somewhere else’ box!

I moved the shelving units around a bit – they were in a bit of a sorry state and requiring a bit of DIY repair so I got the hammer and tacks out. I really like where the furniture is now as it gives me a lot more floor space. I rearranged the shelves too so the top 3 are all my craft books, magazines, business files and lovely jars of trims all topped off with these fab flamingo fairy lights which my lovely friend Chloe gave to me- they are from Talking Tables where she works

I like the table in the corner near the window- this will be great for the light especially as the evenings get lighter.

IMG_5634

I want to wall paper the wall behind the shorter shelving unit next as it’s a nice bumpy and and add a a bit of colour to the others. I’m thinking this lovely shade of pink- it reminds me of raspberry sorbet, mmm!

IMG_5604

I spotted this gorgeous wall paper available from Spoonflower. I’m a sucker for 1950s style and this is just perfect.

sewing-wallpaper

I’m only covering a small wall so I think I should be able to just use 1 roll. It’s still pretty pricey though and as Spoonflower is based in America the postage is high and I always get a bit nervous about customs charges. A little birdy told me they will soon be shipping from a new base in Europe so I’m keeping my ears open for more news on that. 

Talking of 1950s style, in my dream sewing room I’d have one of these as a sewing unit, I think the draws and cupboards would be really handy and the drop down desk is ideal for a sewing machine.

2902f3d06d73df31cb5c0bb1763ed760

At the moment I have a drop leaf dark varnished wood table which works well. I’d like to give it a bit of a makeover and lighten it up a little. Any suggestions?

I also have plans to make a Roman blind for the window to let in as much light as possible. I’ve had this sweet Clarke&Clarke fabric for a while now so it’s going to be high on my next project list

IMG_5598

And of course during the tidy there’s been a bit of obligatory Procraftination!

screen-shot-2015-02-19-at-4-07-11-pm

I covered a dusty old faux leather- as in mounded plastic yuckiness-photo frame with fabric. The fabric is a Dashwood studios print I got in my free goodie bag from Stitches

IMG_5592

This was a nice little project and provided a much needed short break from all the tidying!

It’s so nice to have a space at home to enjoy my creative hobby and do a bit of work from home too when needed. I’ll keep you posted on further developments in my craft room.

Right now I’m off to sew and enjoy it with my cat assistant!

IMG_5643

 

2 thoughts on “The sun is out- YEY! Now I can see all the dust- BOO!

Leave a Reply

