London- it’s all your fault! (but I still Love you)

I’m feeling a bit down today, or is it exhaustion, I’m not sure? I think that’s it. I did have a nice lie in today and have been working on a new dress to wear for my friend Helen’s wedding next weekend which I always enjoy but I’m just a bit flat. I’ll take a look back at what I’ve been up to and why this might be- maybe that will make me feel better!

So as I mentioned my friend Helen is getting married- next weekend! It’s been lovely enjoying the build up to the wedding with her. I have missed out on a few things which makes me a bit sad, I used to see the girls a lot but I’ve let work take over a bit too much in the last 2 months – I haven’t made it to the weekly Tuesday meetups and I missed our annual Christmas meal for a sewing event- I caught up with them for drinks afterwards but it wasn’t quite the same.

So that’s made the 2 hen do’s I’ve been involved in for Helen even more special.

A few weeks ago we got together at the shop to make bunting as a group. We made this lovely Mr & Mrs Jones bunting and everyone had a go at using our fancy embroidery machine aka “The Beast” and made a few flags each. I then strung them all together with Hessian ribbon. She’s planning to have it hanging at her wedding reception which will be really special.

IMG_5083

Then we went to London a couple to weeks ago for the BIG hen do! Oh my I had forgotten how much I love London! I lived there for 7 years, at uni and working before I ran out of money and energy and came home to Leicester. But I still love going back to visit, I love the feeling of knowing a little of the insider info on the good places to go but still constantly being surprised my how some things change so rapidly, whilst some stay the same.

We were staying in the east and we did an awesome treasure hunt around Hoxton and Shoreditch, I think it’s one of my favourite parts of London.

The rest of the hen do was fab. We went bowling at the All star Lanes then (after a disco nap!) we went to a restaurant called the Jones’ family project and partied the night away at the Electricity Showrooms.  I wore my new year ponte roma pink Chloe by Victory patterns dress. It was so comfy and I felt fab!

IMG_5211-0

On the Sunday the girls caught an early train back to Leicester and I spent a couple of hours treating myself to a private date with the East end. I went to a little independent cafe and had a delicious almond croissant and a mocha and watched the market traders in the bustling back streets off Brick Lane.

IMG_5214

I crossed Brick Lane and carried on down to Beyond Retro, a great vintage warehouse, then worked my way back up Cheshire Street dropping into a few of the vintage and unusual small shops along the way. There are some great shops down that street including The Duke of Uke- a fascinating ukulele emporium – and the gorgeous Porcelain & Red where the lovely owner let me try on several items of divine vintage clothing most of which were way to small as per usual including this beautiful simple tartan wrap skirt which is definitely going on my “to sew” list.

But I did find this gem! It’s a Chinese style brocade jacket and it fits like a dream- like it was made for me! Due to my pledge not to buy any new clothes last year I actually hadn’t bought anything for over a year until this- I’m really glad it was this lovely jacket which broke my shopping fast!

IMG_5246

I then popped into (read- spent about an hour in!) another old favourite, The Laden Showroom. This shop is a great showcase of small brands and designers and always has something interesting in. I was so close to buying this shift dress but it was just a teeny bit too tight on the hips- I shouldn’t have had that croissant 😉 ! I loved the print and colours.

I then dropped in to the old Truman brewery which has now been converted into a permanent vintage market- there was lots to see- too much in fact- records, clothing from all eras, tat and treasures! So I had a quick swoop round but by then I was feeling a bit shopped out and ready to head over to South London to meet up with my very best uni friend Chloe for the longest noodle lunch and long overdue catch up.

…But then I spotted a fabric shop! Open- on a Sunday! Well I couldn’t not go in! It was a claustrophobic’s nightmare with rolls piled high and trims spilling out of the spaces between. But I spotted a beautiful mock silk jacquard in gold with a water lilly leaf design and I knew it was the perfect fabric to make a dress to go with my jacket. So I bought a couple of meters ignoring that I had just 3 weeks to make it around a whole heap of other commissions, projects, social events and running a shop!

SO I started the dress last week and surprisingly it is coming together really well. I’ll save the details for next week’s blog and hopefully share a few nice pics of me in it – hoping it gets finished tomorrow!

So yeah, turns out I don’t have quite the stamina as I did when I lived in London and that’s why I’m a bit pooped, but I had a fantastic time and actually yes I do feel better for writing about all the exciting and fun reasons why! Thanks for reading

Happy sewing!

One thought on “London- it’s all your fault! (but I still Love you)

Leave a Reply

