Christmas is a time for giving… Mondays in January are not!

I don’t give gifts to receive gifts, and I get as much pleasure in making nice things for nice people as they do (hopefully) in receiving them! Selfish I know! So this year again I wanted to make as many gifts as I could.

Not having little people of my own at the moment I do love making clothes and toys for my friend’s kids.

This year I made…

These cute little pjs with a cool retro cars print

IMG_9554photo 1

Matching pinny dresses in mermaid cotton and denimphoto 4.JPG

A tractor print shirt for a green fingered little boy

photo 2photo 3

A Santa mat for my cousin’s little girl (my second cousin?) The design is by Tracy Corns who teaches and does embroidery demos at Crafty Sew&SoIMG_4907

A sweet little mermaid printed heart shaped bag personalised with an ‘E’ for ElizaIMG_4903

A fab checked bow tie which I gave with a mini magic kit for a young magician’s apprentice!1052720_10153328619992108_5966946764751564182_oIMG_4910

The grown ups didn’t miss out either, I made…

A cape for my mum (modelled by my friend Bekki who works with us in the shop)IMG_4929

An embroidered teatowel for Dad and one for a family friend and one for my Aunt and UncleIMG_4906IMG_4886

Embroidered hankies- the edges were finished using a rolled hem stitch on the overlocker and I embroidered them on ‘the Beast’! You’ll no doubt meet ‘the Beast’ in later posts but it’s safe to say it is the best machine I’ve ever had the pleasure of using- A Brother Innovis V5 super dooper embroidery machine which we have on Demo at the shop.IMG_4912.JPG

A fun embroidered pendant1935571_10153327811942108_7368191053778699260_n

A smart wine bottle waistcoat for the pouring of the Christmas day vino!10277043_10153153421446432_4592981911461728855_n.jpg

A patchwork bed runner/cuddle blanket backed with snuggly dimple fleece for my sisterphoto 5

Cosy brushed cotton PJ bottoms, napkins and a ‘make your own’ tie kit for my boyfriend, Matt.

A remote control holder in this fab scrabble print fabric for a family friendIMG_4969

Comfy wrap fabric slippers for my best friend Chloe who I am visiting at the moment in London

These simple with useful tissue holders which I wrote a tutorial on for our Crafty Sew&So BlogIMG_4962

A dressing gown for Matt’s mumIMG_4934

And some pretty fabric slippers for my friend Emma who is the only person I know with size 3 feet!

slippers

I also made Matt a mini stocking advent calendar which I filled with lots of running nutrition bars… and some other treats too! I’ve told him it’s his turn to fill it next year!IMG_4707

It was also 2 of my best friend’s Birthdays in the run up to Christmas so I made Kerry a soft brushed cotton shawl with a pencil brooch as she’s an architect

IMG_4781IMG_4784

And I decided mum of 3 Amy needed a bit of pampering so I made her a soft ponte roma dressing gown (I really wanted to keep this one!)IMG_4779

Phew, I feel tired just writing that list!

And that is why January is my Selfish Sewing month- maybe February will be too!

Matt bought me the best gift any sewing enthusiast could wish for – Fabric! I also got some lovely patterns and Chinelo’s new freehand fashion book which I’m looking forward to getting stuck into.

 

 I made the soft and slinky ponte roma he gave me into a smart shift dress for New Year which I also wore for my friend’s hen do in London this weekend

 

 I’ve made a little boxy jacket to go with it since and I can’t wait to wear them together on smarter (warmer!) days in the shop.

I also got some lovely washed lightweight denim which I’ve washed ready to use but I’m still deciding what to make with it – I’m always tempted to make over complicated garments to ‘challenge’ myself but the clothes I like to wear are often very simple so I’m thinking a semi fitted tunic style dress would be a good addition to my everyday handmade wardrobe.

My Sew Over It stretch jacquard trousers made last week made their debut in the shop last week and held up well (literally)! They were a little baggy by the end of the day so I’m going to wash them to see if they shrink back then maybe take them in a bit. This seems to be a problem I always have with trousers, any tips anyone?

I’m heading back from London this afternoon and we’re hosting the Leicester Ladies WI group at the shop tonight so I probably won’t get chance to do much sewing today but I’ll enjoy a bit of origami using the free kit from this month’s Mollie Makes on the train home and dedicate a bit of tomorrow to sewing rather than chores!

Happy Sewing!

Sarah

Leave a Reply

